The Players Championship: Champions

MONTREAL - SEPTEMBER 29: U.S. Team Captain Jack Nicklaus watches the play during the round four afternoon fourball matches at The Presidents Cup at The Royal Montreal Golf Club on September 29, 2007 in Montreal, Quebec, Canada. (Photo by Scott Halleran/Getty Images)There have been several multiple winners of the Players Championship over the years, but only one man has managed to lift the title on three occasions, and he is one of the legends of golf, the inimitable Jack Nicklaus. For this reason alone he can be considered one of the Players Championship champions.

The other man who deserves the accolades is Australian Greg Norman. He set the tournament record with an aggregate of 264 and a -24 to par.

We look at the careers of both these men, who are now sadly beyond their prime, but still very active on the Seniors Tour.

Jack Nicklaus

Jack Nicklaus is one of the names synonymous with golf. He has broken and set records for his entire career, and although he is 68 years old he is still very much involved in the game. He currently plays on the Senior Tour.

He, together with Arnold Palmer and Gary Player, effectively changed the game of golf into one of the most-watched sporting events ever.

Nicklaus has claimed a record 18 Grand Slam titles, 73 PGA Tour wins, 21 other wins, ten PGA Senior Tour wins and nine other Senior Tour wins – what a remarkable legacy!

Jack Nicklaus will arguably be regarded as the greatest golfer of all time, overshadowing the celebrated Tiger Woods, purely because he had to rely on equipment which is vastly inferior to the clubs and equipment used today.

Greg Norman

Greg Norman was an outstanding golfer, yet the Players Championship champions never really managed to reach the pinnacle of the sport. He won two British Opens, but the countless near misses he had at the other Majors defined his career.

He boasts 20 PGA Tour wins, 14 European Tour wins, 33 wins in Australia and 22 other wins. He represented Australia at the Dunhill Cup for a decade, and was part of the International Team of the Presidents Cup on three occasions.

He won numerous awards during his fruitful career including the Vardon Trophy (3), the Byron Nelson Award (5) and was PGA Player Of The Year in 1995.